Five Buccaneers Score PSL Awards Nominations

Orlando Pirates will be represented by five hopefuls at the 2023 edition of the prestigious PSL Awards after the nominees were revealed on Thursday.

The League made the announcement ahead of the closing weekend of the 2023 DStv Premiership campaign, with eight categories featuring members of the Soweto Giants’ personnel.

Buccaneers stars Miguel Timm, Monnapule Saleng, Nkosinathi Sibisi have all made the shortlist, along with teenage sensation Relebohile Ratomo following their consistent performances throughout the season, while Head Coach José Riveiro also features among those that could win big at the upcoming awards ceremony.

Timm and Saleng have been nominated more than once and will go head-to-head for the MTN 8 Last Man Standing award, the only category that will see two Bucs players fighting it out for the same prize.

The duo was instrumental in delivering a second MTN 8 title in three years to the Soweto Giants, with Timm impressing with his performances from the heart of the midfield while Saleng came in clutch with three crucial goals in the tournament, which include the winner in the final against AmaZulu. 

They have also cracked a nod in the Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament and DStv Premiership Midfielder of the Season categories respectively, while Saleng is also among the contenders for the coveted PSL Players’ Player of the Season award – which will be voted on by his peers –  as well as the Footballer of the Season award.

Centre-back, Nkosinathi Sibisi meanwhile stands to walk away with the league’s Defender of the Season award following his outstanding debut season in Bucs colours, where he has started in 26 league matches to date.

Ratomo is the other Pirates player to score a nomination, and was named among the hopefuls for the DStv Diski Challenge Player of the Season award, having impressed enough to make a swift graduation from the Bucs Reserves to the First Team his first season as a Buccaneer.

Among the men in the dugout, Riveiro has been recognised for his contribution to the Bucs’ success with a nod in the Premiership Coach of the Season category.

The awards ceremony will be held on Sunday, 28 May.

PSL Awards 2023 Nominees: Selected Categories 

●    MTN 8 Last Man Standing: Miguel Timm, Monnapule Saleng (both Orlando Pirates), George Maluleka (AmaZulu)

●    DStv Diski Challenge Player of the Season: Relebohile Ratomo (Orlando Pirates), Shandre Campbell (SuperSport United), Luphumlo Sifumba (Cape Town City)

●    DStv Premiership Defender of the Season: Nkosinathi Sibisi (Orlando Pirates), Given Msimango (TS Galaxy), Khuliso Mudau (Mamelodi Sundowns)

●    DStv Premiership Midfielder of the Season: Monnapule Saleng (Orlando Pirates), Teboho Mokoena, Themba Zwane (both Mamelodi Sundowns)

●    Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Miguel Timm (Orlando Pirates), Iqraam Rayners (Stellenbosch FC), Edwin Gyimah (Sekhukhune United)

●    DStv Premiership Coach of the Season: José Riveiro (Orlando Pirates), Rulani Mokoena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Gavin Hunt (SuperSport United)

●    DStv Premiership Players’ Player of the Season: Monnapule Saleng (Orlando Pirates), Themba Zwane, Ronwen Williams (both Mamelodi Sundowns)

●    PSL Footballer of the Season: Monnapule Saleng (Orlando Pirates), Ronwen Williams, Teboho Mokoena (both Mamelodi Sundowns)

Share the Post: