Motshwari Out of AFCON Squad

Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter named his final 23-man squad yesterday.

Our very own Ben Motshwari misses out on the continental showpiece along with Cape Town City Striker Kermit Erasmus and Maritzburg United midfielder Fortune Makaringe.

Baxter trimmed his squad from an initial size of 28 down to 26 last week following the injury to Keagan Dolly as well as the compassionate leave granted to Rivaldo Coetzee whose mother is reportedly critically ill, and now down to 23.

Despite Motshwari being dropped, the Buccaneers will still have representation in Egypt with Innocent Maela and Thembinkosi Lorch amongst those selected for the squad.

Bafana will on Monday depart for Dubai, where they will host their final preparation camp which includes a friendly encounter against Ghana on June 15, before moving on to Cairo ahead of their opening AFCON clash against Ivory Coast on June 24.

Meanwhile, Zimbabwe national squad has also been announced and Pirates will have Marshall Munetsi and Kudakwashe Mahachi as part of the international competition.

Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits ), Rowen Williams (SuperSport United), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs).

Defenders: Daniel Cardoso (Kaizer Chiefs), Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Kaizer Chiefs), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Bidvest Wits), Innocent Maela (Pirates), Sifiso Hlanti (Wits), Buhle Mkhawanazi (Wits), Thamsanqa Mkhize (Cape Town City).

Midfielders: Bongani Zungu (Amiens), Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Dean Furman (SuperSport United), Kamohelo Mokotjo (Brentford), Tiyani Mabunda (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thulani Serero (Vitesse), Thembinkosi Lorch (Pirates), ThembaZwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Strikers: Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg), Percy Tau (Royal St Union), Lars Veldwijk (Sparta Rotterdam), Lebogang Maboe (Mamelodi Sundowns), Sibusiso Vilakazi (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Share the Post: