PSL Awards 2024: Bucs Stars Up for Top Accolades

Six Orlando Pirates players along with head coach Jose Riveiro are in the running for top accolades in the 2024 PSL Awards ceremony scheduled for next month.

The nominees were announced on Friday morning, with 14 categories across league and cup football as well as junior competition set to be contested.

The Buccaneers are well represented in the shortlist, following some stellar team and individual displays throughout the season. They dominate the MTN8 Last Man Standing category after successfully defending their title during the early part of the campaign.

Goalkeeper Sipho Chaine is nominated in the category alongside Bucs attackers Patrick Maswanganyi and Zakhele Lepasa, with the Bucs trio rewarded for their heroics throughout the tournament.

Maswanganyi is one of two Pirates players shortlisted in multiple categories, and will contest the Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament award alongside striker Tshegofatso Mabasa. The other player to bag more than one nomination is teen sensation Relebohile Mofokeng, who is in the running for the Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player and DStv Premiership Young Player of the Season accolades.

Centre-back Tapelo Xoki is up for the league’s Defender of the Season award, while Maswanganyi makes his third appearance in the list of nominees in the Midfielder of the Season category.

The Bucs contingent in the shortlist is rounded up by Riveiro, who is among the DStv Premiership Coach of the Season nominees.

PSL Awards 2024: Selected categories

● MTN8 Last Man Standing: Sipho Chaine, Zakhele Lepasa, Patrick Maswanganyi (all Orlando Pirates)
● Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player of the Tournament: Relebohile Mofokeng (Orlando Pirates), Shandre Campbell (SuperSport United), Devin Titus (Stellenbosch)
● Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Tshegofatso Mabasa, Patrick Maswanganyi (both Orlando Pirates), Iqraam Rayners (Stellenbosch)
● DStv Premiership Defender of the Season: Grant Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Deano van Rooyen (Stellenbosch), Tapelo Xoki (Orlando Pirates)
● DStv Premiership Midfielder of the Season: Sanele Barns (Richards Bay), Patrick Maswanganyi (Orlando Pirates), Devin Titus (Stellenbosch)
● DStv Premiership Young Player of the Season: Relebohile Mofokeng (Orlando Pirates), Shandre Campbell, Ime Okon (both SuperSport United)
● DStv Premiership Player’s Player of the Season: Patrick Maswanganyi (Orlando Pirates), Iqraam Rayners (Stellenbosch), Ronwen Williams (Mamelodi Sundowns)
● DStv Premiership Coach of the Season: Steve Barker (Stellenbosch), Rhulani Mokoena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Jose Riveiro (Orlando Pirates)

Share the Post: